Jeff McBride honored by U.K.'s Mage Circle

 Las Vegas magic star Jeff McBride awarded highest honor by London’s Magic Circle

September 3, 2018 Las Vegas, NV – Last night, at their headquarters in London, The Magic Circle presented Jeff McBride with The David Devant Award. Among the highest awards bestowed in the world of magic and illusion, the Devant award is given to those who have made a significant contribution in advancing the art of magic or who have given outstanding service to magic internationally. The trophy is a miniature bust of David Devant, the first President of The Magic Circle. The original life size bronze is on permanent display in the Magic Circle Headquarters.
A 10-year headliner at his popular McBride’s Wonderground, in Las Vegas, Jeff McBride has long been known as a foremost innovator in the world of magic, being among the first to incorporate masks and pantomime with world-class sleight-of-hand skills. His early career saw him as opening act for such superstars as Diana Ross & Tom Jones. Later, his full-evening shows won raves off-Broadway, in Atlantic City and Las Vegas. He is founder of the McBride Magic & Mystery School in Las Vegas, McBride’s Wonderground (magic nightclub) and can be seen regularly on such popular television shows as Masters of Illusion and Penn & Teller’s Fool Us. He is author of the book The Show Doctor and host of the Monday Night Mystery School webcast, currently with over 350 episodes archived. Earlier this summer, McBride was presented with one of the magic world’s other highest honors, the International Fédération Internationale des Sociétés Magiques’ (FISM) Theory & Philosophy Award.
The Magic Circle, located in London, is the premier magical society in the fascinating world of magic and illusion. They have an international membership of around 1500, all dedicated to promoting and advancing the art of magic, an entertainment as popular today as when the famous club was formed in 1905.
Former recipients of the David Devant Award include:
2018 - Jeff McBride
2017 - Silvan
2016 - Lance Burton
2015 - Johnny Thompson
2014 - David Copperfield
2013 - Luis De Matos
2012 - Jim Steinmeyer
2011 - David Berglas
2009 - Ali Bongo
2008 - Siefried & Roy
2007 - Paul Daniels
2006 - John Fisher2004 - Marvin Roy2005 - John Calvert
2003 - Mark Wilson and Nani
2002 - Dr. Eddie Dawes
2001 - John Gaughan
2000 - Channing Pollock
1999 - Jay Marshall
# # #